Kaeding wins Sprint Car feature at Ocean Speedway

Bud Kaeding won the 30-lap Taco Bravo Sprint Car Main Event on Sept. 21 at Ocean Speedway in Watsonville.

The reigning NARC King Of The West Series champion set himself up in a good position by grabbing the pole position with his six-lap Trophy Dash victory ahead of Kurt Nelson.

Kaeding raced into the lead at the start of the main event with Nelson in pursuit for the first seven laps.

Brad Furr passed Nelson for second on lap eight, and the series point leader ran closely with Kaeding for the remaining 22 tours around the Tom Sagmiller prepared quarter-mile clay oval.

But Kaeding kept his cool and recorded his third win of the season.

Furr continued to close in on the Watsonville championship by finishing second, followed by Nelson, Jeremy Chisum, Koen Shaw, Jason Chisum, Scott Parker, Cole Macedo, Vaughn Schott and Chris Nelson.

Jeremy Chisum set the fast time of 11.797, beating the 11.903 effort of Tucker Worth.

Kaeding won his eight-lap heat race in front of Worth, while Kurt Nelson outran Parker to win the other heat race.


Santa Rosa’s Chris Sieweke made only his second appearance of the season, and won the 25-lap IMCA Modified Main Event.

Sieweke had the outside front row starting position and raced into the lead at the green flag, followed by Todd Hermosillo and Austin Burke.

On lap nine of the non-stop race, Burke and his point leading brother Cody Burke raced around Hermosillo into the second and third positions. But Sieweke set a good pace up front and kept the Burke brothers at bay for the impressive victory.

Austin held on for second ahead of Cody.

State point leader Shane DeVolder finished fourth, followed by Alex Wilson, Jim Pettit II, Bobby Hogge IV, Robert Marsh, Raymond Keldsen Jr and Gary Marsh.

Eight-lap heat race wins went to Austin Burke and Sieweke.


A last-lap mishap between the leaders handed Justin McPherson his first 20-lap IMCA Sport Modified win of the season.

Looking for his second win, Igor Grandzuk zoomed into the lead from the outside front row starting position, followed by John Ferro.

This was another Main Event that was destined to go without a yellow flag, and reigning Antioch Speedway champion K.C. Keller raced past Ferro for second on lap four.

McPherson gained third a lap later.

Keller closed in quickly on Grandzuk, and spent the last half-dozen laps trying to find a way around. He gained the lead on the last lap, but contact resulted in Grandzuk spinning.

Keller crossed the line first, only to have the win handed to second-place finisher McPherson on a rough driving call.

Anthony Giuliani ended up second, followed by Andrew Peckham, Adriane Frost, Austin Williams, point leader Jim DiGiovanni, Alex Bieser, Grandzuk, Keller and Steven Allee.

Eight-lap heat race wins went to Williams and Ferro.


J.C. Elrod won his fourth 20-lap American Stock Main Event of the season.

Elrod had to battle point leader Matt Kile for most of the non-stop race. He raced into the lead from the start with Kile in close pursuit.

Gradually, the lead two cars pulled away from the rest of the pack.

With Kile pressuring him all the way, Elrod drove a solid race to earn the victory.

Joe Gallaher was about a half-lap behind in third, followed by many time champion Sam Kennedy, D.J. Keldsen, reigning champion Rob Gallaher, Adriane Frost, Jerry Skelton, George Fernandez and Kevin Counterman. Kile and Elrod recorded eight lap heat race wins.


This weekend is the eighth annual Pat Pettit Memorial Shootout Race, featuring IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds and American Stocks.

The Saturday portion of the show will pay $3,003 for the IMCA Modifieds in what will also be an All Star Series race.

The Sport Modifieds will race for $1,003 to win, and the Americans Stocks get a $503 first prize.


More In Sports