Nelson, Burke, Ryland win main events at Ocean Speedway

Kurt Nelson was the winner of last week’s 30-lap Ocean Sprint Car main event at Taco Bravo Night on Friday at Ocean Speedway.

Nelson came from the third row to become the third different feature winner of the season. After winning his heat race and the Trophy Dash, incoming point leader Jeremy Chisum set himself up in a good position with the pole position for the feature.

Chisum had a strong run, but he was no match for Nelson, who collected the victory ahead of second place finisher James Ringo.

Chisum settled for third, followed by Jayson Bright, Jarrett Soares, Jake Andreotti, Joey Ancona, Kyler Shaw, Chris Nelson and Keith Davis Jr.

Chisum won his eight-lap heat race ahead of James Ringo and the six-lap Trophy Dash ahead of Soares. Soares outran Chris Nelson to win the other heat race.

IMCA MODIFIED >> Cody Burke won the 25-lap IMCA Modified main event as he battled front row-starter Anthony Copeland in a good race for the victory.

Burke, who is the reigning division champion, started in the second row and beccame the third different winner in three races.

Copeland finished second, followed by Austin Burke, Merced Speedway point leader Troy Foulger, Jeff Decker, Anthony Giuliani, Robert Marsh, Brian Cass, Mitch Machado and Todd Hermosillo.

Jim Pettit II won his eight-lap heat race, but fell out early in the main event, while Burke was the other heat winner.

IMCA SPORT MODIFIED >> Fred Ryland won the 20-lap IMCA Sport Modified main event after he started in the second row with fellow heat race winner, Tanner Thomas, and wasted little time getting into the lead.

The 2015 State champion led most of the way into victory lane, with Bakersfield star Kevin Johnson who charged from eighth place to finish second. Jarrod Mounce finished third, followed by current state point leader Guy Ahlwardt, TJ Etchison III, Patti Ryland, Justin McPherson, Adriane Frost, Austin Williams and Thomas.

There were three eight-lap heat races with wins going to Thomas, Ryland and Mounce.

FOUR BANGER >> Ryan McClelland won the 15-lap Four Banger main event and he becomes the third different winner in as many races.

McClelland had the pole position with Kate Beardsley on the outside. The duo drove to a 1-2 finish at the checkered flag.

Dakota Keldsen, who was the ninth starter, drove the Lloyd Keldsen Jr. Tribute Car to a third place finish, followed by Nicole Beardsley, John Grilli, Bill Beardsley, Jeff Finsand, Abigail Kennedy and Chuck Kessinger.

McClelland and Beardsley won their respective eight-lap heat races.

UP NEXT >> The Ocean Sprints return today with a Salute to Mother’s Day along with the second appearance of the USAC Western Speed2 Midgets, Hobby Stocks and Four Bangers.

With four races in the books, Chisum leads in the unadjusted point standings. Chisum is the only driver that has finished in the top ten in every race this season.   

The Hobby Stocks return to the track after a week off. Rob Gallaher of San Jose picked up his first win of the year the last time out, beating Watsonville’s DJ Keldsen and Santa Cruz’s Robert Huckaby Sr. Joe Gallaher and Tony Oliveira of Watsonville completed the top five.

The Western Midgets are back in town after a race down in Ventura last week.  When they were here last on April 19th, Fresno’s David Prickett grabbed the win ahead of Clovis’ Dillon Tucker. Atascadero’s Randi Pankratz, Jackson Dukes of Clovis and Hollister’s Adam Lemke completed the top five.

And finally, the Four Bangers are amidst in an intense part of their season as they get set to race for a third-straight week.

For further information, go to


Editor's Note: This article will be published in the May 10 edition of the Register-Pajaronian.


More In Sports