NEXTie recipients unveiled

SANTA CRUZ — Event Santa Cruz recently announced this year’s NEXTie winners after reviewing more than 2,500 nominations.

The event is celebrating its 10th year and will take place on March 22 at 6 p.m. Doors open at 5:30 p.m. at the Rio Theatre, 1205 Soquel Ave. in Santa Cruz.

This year’s recipients include: 

• Entrepreneur(s) of the Year – Leilani Kanter and Ariel Carlson (Botanic and Luxe)

• Musician of the Year – Henry Chadwick

• Musician of the Year – Mira Goto

• Band of the Year – Cement Ship

• Artist of the Year – Lili Arnold Studios

• Writer of the Year – Douglas Abrams

• Give Back Person of the Year – Shandara Gill

• Foodie of the Year – Vrinda Quintero

• New Business of the Year – 11th Hour Coffee

• Athlete of the Year – Marcos Reyes

• Under 18 person of the Year – Anthony Arya

• Non-Profit of the Year – BALANCE4kids

• Mentor of the Year – Ramiro Medrano

• TECHie of the Year – Socrates Rosenfeld

• Green Business of the Year – The Circular Living Co.

• Wildcard – The Art Cave

• Innovative Business of the Year – SellHound

• Life Time Achievement Award – Dan Haifley

Tickets are available now for $25 and can be purchased for $30 the week of the event. Tickets can be purchased at

Video News
More In Local News