Ocean Speedway: Frost, Schutte, Gallaher win main event features

WATSONVILLE — Adriane Frost won the 20-lap IMCA Sport Modified main event on Friday night at Ocean Speedway.

It was an emotional second win of the season for Frost, who recently lost her mother, Sue Silveira.

The win puts the Watsonville native in first place in the Ocean Speedway standings with 176 points and she became the first repeat winner in the IMCA SportMods this season.

Justin McPherson led the race for two laps before a yellow flag was waved.

Frost charged ahead of McPherson on the restart and ran smooth and consistent laps the rest of the way for an impressive victory.

McPherson settled for second place, followed by Jarrod Mounce, state point-leader Guy Ahlwardt, Randy Miller, Rob Gallaher, Austin Williams, Billy Robertson, Tim Elias and Steven Allee.

Frost and Elias won their respective eight-lap heat races.



Alex Schutte won the 20-lap Midgets main event, which ended up being a shootout race involving the local Ocean Midgets and the BCRA/POWRI Midgets.

Schutte took the lead from Maria Cofer on lap three and stayed ahead until the yellow flag was waved on lap 12.

But Schutte continued to lead Cofer and Ocean Speedway point leader David Prickett on the restart. He set a good pace and wasn't seriously threatened on his way to a victory.

Cofer had problems with her car and headed for the pits on lap 17, while Prickett finished second.

Marvin Mitchell placed third followed by Joel Rayborne, Jackson Dukes, BCRA point leader Robert Carson, Cofer, Randi Pankratz, Larry Peterson and Greg Edenholm.

Schuette set the fastest time on the quarter-mile clay oval with a lap of 13.530 seconds. Schutte and Peterson won their 10-lap heat race.



Rob Gallaher got his fourth win of the season in the 20-lap Hobby Stock main event. He also continues to hold his place as the current point leader (214) in the Ocean Speedway Hobby Stock standings.

Nick Triolo had a front row start and set the early pace, while Jerry Skelton took second from DJ Keldsen on a lap three restart.

Triolo surrendered the lead to Gallaher during lap 10 but a yellow flag was waved moments after that. Triolo led the restart with Gallaher pressuring him hard.

Gallaher finally made his winning move on lap 14 and took home the victory with Triolo not too far behind him in second place.

Skelton settled for third, followed by Wally Kennedy, Ryan Muller, Joe Gallaher, Quentin Harris, Tony Oliveira and Keldsen.

The two eight-lap heat race wins went to Keldsen and Joe Gallaher.



Shawn Jones won the 20-lap South Bay Dwarf Car main event in a toe-to-toe battle with two-time champion Terre Rothweiler.

Jones, who is also a past champion with the group, set the pace early with Rothweiler.

Antioch point leader Scott Dahlgren was also in the mix at the beginning. The only yellow flag of the race flew on lap nine for current point leader Mark Biscardi.

Jones fell into second behind Rothweiler on the restart and began to put the pressure on him for the lead.

Jones made his winning pass on lap 18 and brought it home to a satisfying win.

Rothweiler settled for second, followed by Danny Wagner, Dahlgren, Gene "Punky" Pires, Ryan Amlen, Trafton Chandler, Devan Kammermann, Eddy Claessen and Barry Waddell.

Amlen won the eight-lap heat race.



Jessie Mueller came through for the California Highway Patrol with a big win in the 15-lap Police N Pursuit main event.

Mueller took the lead from San Benito Sheriff's Office representative Roy Iler on lap 14 and never looked back as he drove off for the victory.

Iler started on the front row and led much of the race with Justin Rhodes in close pursuit. Mueller moved past Rhodes for second on lap 12 and gained the lead two laps later.

Rhodes finished second, followed by Iler, Steven Fernandes, Chris Murphy, Nate Graham, Pat Sullivan, John Hohmann, Adam Rikalo and Tony Weir.

Hohmann and Fernandes won their respective eight-lap heat races.



The Taco Bravo Sprint Cars return to action on Friday along with the IMCA Sport Modifieds, Hobby Stocks and Four Bangers. For further information, go to www.racepmg.com.


Ocean Speedway Points Standings (as of June 7)

Ocean Sprints

  1. Jeremy Chisum — 985
  2. Kurt Nelson — 976
  3. James Ringo — 975
  4. Koen Shaw — 948
  5. Jason Chisum — 947

IMCA Modifieds

  1. Cody Burke — 149
  2. Austin Burke — 145
  3. Anthony Copeland — 136
  4. Jim Pettit II — 135
  5. Brian Cass — 129

IMCA Sport Mods

  1. Adriane Frost — 176
  2. Austin Williams — 172
  3. Guy Ahlwardt — 153
  4. Jarrod Mounce — 153
  5.  Charlie Hunter — 135

Hobby Stocks

  1. Rob Gallaher — 214
  2. Joe Gallaher — 183
  3. Wally Kennedy — 173
  4. DJ Keldsen — 138
  5. Nick Triolo — 128

Four Bangers

  1. Kate Beardsley — 340
  2. Nicole Beardsley — 338
  3. Bill Beardsley — 315
  4. Ryan McClelland — 299
  5. John Grilli — 293

Ocean Midgets

  1. David Prickett — 190
  2. Randi Pankratz — 170
  3. Jackson Dukes — 163
  4. Greg Edenholm — 157
  5. Joel Rayborne — 60

Police N’ Pursuit

  1. John Hohmann — 179
  2. Ron Iler — 169
  3. Cliff Sloma — 161
  4. Justin Rhodes — 161
  5. Steven Fernandes — 159


More In Sports