Ocean Speedway: Scelzi wins Sprint Car finale, Furr captures third season title

Dominic Scelzi (41s) closed the season with a Sprint Car win at Ocean Speedway on Oct. 5. — Joe Shivak/For the Register-Pajaronian

Dominic Scelzi won the 30-lap Ocean Sprint Car Main Event in final race of the 2018 season on Oct. 5 at Ocean Speedway in Watsonville.

Brad Furr finished third behind Scelzi and Justin Sanders, but wrapped up the third Sprint Car season championship of his career.

It was nearly a double-victory for Furr, who passed Kurt Nelson for the lead on lap 11, but couldn’t hold off Scelzi or Sanders.

Scelzi grabbed the lead on lap 13, and denied Sanders’ efforts over the final handful of laps to secure the victory in just his third appearance at Ocean Speedway this season.

Bud Kaeding, Nelson, Michael "Buddy" Kofoid, Kyle Offill, Jeremy Chisum, Jason Chisum and Danny Faria followed Scelzi, Sanders and Furr.

They were 21 Sprint Cars, and Furr set the quickest lap of 11.489, beating the 11.589 effort from Scelzi.

They ran three eight-lap heat races, and Nelson, Jeremy Chisum and Tucker Worth scored the wins.

Chisum continued a strong preliminary effort by holding off Nelson to win the six-lap Trophy Dash.



T.J. Etchinson III scored his first 20-lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event win of the season.

He was racing in memory of his father, longtime Watsonville racer Tim Etchison Jr., who recently passed away.

Etchison had the lead from the start and never looked back en route to the emotional victory.

Igor Grandzuk, Anthony Giuliani, Justin McPherson, new champion Jim DiGiovanni, Adriane Frost, Doug Hagio, Mike Kofnovec Sr., Duane Bieser and Charlie Hunter followed in that order.

Grandzuk and Austin Williams won the two eight-lap heats.



Shawn Jones won a thrilling 20-lap South Bay Dwarf Car Main Event battle with Terre Rothweiler.

It was a battle between past champions, and Rothweiler led the early goings with Jones and Kyle Jones in close pursuit.

As the non-stop race hit the midway point, Jones was still glued Rothweiler’s bumper.

They took the white flag in a near dead heat, and Shawn Jones made his winning pass on the final lap.

Rothweiler settled for second, followed by Kyle Jones, Mark Biscardi, Ryan Amlen, Gene "Punky" Pires, Trafton Chandler, Eric Wiesler, Brian Barnhill and Brady Beck.

Rothweiler and Kyle Jones won eight-lap heat races.



J.C. Elrod won his fifth 20-lap American Stock Main Event of the season, and used the victory to secure second in the final point standings.

Chris McCabe had a front row start and set the early pace with Elrod and new champion Matt Kile in close pursuit behind him.

The only yellow flag of the race flew on lap seven. On the restart, Elrod began his duel with McCabe for the lead. Elrod led lap eight and McCabe led lap nine, but the former regained the lead for good on lap 10.

Kile and McCabe finished second and third, respectively. Sam Kennedy, Joe Willoughby, D.J. Keldsen, John Farrell, Terry Traub, Jerry Skelton and Kevin Counterman followed.

McCabe and Kile won their respective eight-lap heat races.


More In Sports